Skip to main content

Martha May recognized for years of Outstanding Work with 150 Celebration Coin

Martha May
Martha May, the Administrative Associate for the Department of History, was awarded one of the 150 Celebration Coins by Gregory Dunaway, Dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences. Martha has been an essential member of our Department since 1999. In 2002 she was promoted from office assistant to Administrative Secretary and in 2004 she won an Eberly College Outstanding Staff Award. The following year, recognizing Martha’s abilities, the department recommended that she be promoted to Administrative Assistant or office manager, making her responsible for the smooth and efficient running of the department. As the glue that holds the department together, she does much more than maintain department records; she has been the primary problem-solver that department faculty, graduate instructors, and students turn to for assistance with travel reimbursements, questions about tuition waivers, scheduling, and transitions to WVU and Morgantown. She welcomes guest speakers, arranges departmental events, and trouble-shoots all questions with warmth and efficiency.

The Department of History is very pleased and proud to see Martha May’s years of hard work and value recognized with a 150 Celebration Coin. The 150 Celebration Coin is a special recognition created for the 150th anniversary of WVU's founding. The coin is an official token of appreciation to those hardworking employees at all levels who go above and beyond to help make our University community a better place every day. This honor is especially designed to celebrate the hard work of employees that embody the WVU values of service, professionalism, aptitude, accountability and appreciation. This year’s recipients were selected because they set a high bar and outstanding role model for others to emulate.